Charles Mingus - Live in '64 Performance DVD

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
To all 50 US States
Our Low Price: $19.95
Found a lower price?

Frequently bought together:


This excellent concert DVD from the Jazz Icons series is a combination of sets from three exceptional concerts, performed in April 1964 - over a period of eight days traveling through Belgium, Norway and Sweden. Often considered to be his most celebrated lineup, his group for this collection features:

  • Jaki Byard (piano)
  • Dannie Richmond (drums)
  • Johnny Coles (trumpet)
  • Clifford Jordan (tenor sax)
  • Eric Dolphy (alto sax, flute and bass clarinet)

The DVD features a 24-page booklet with: liner notes by Rob Bowman; foreword by Andrew Homzy; afterword by Sue Mingus; cover photo by Guy Le Querrec; booklet photos by Lee Tanner, Jan Persson, Riccardo Schwamenthal; memorabilia collage; and more.

The DVD runs 120 minutes, and is an excellent opportunity to see jazz masters in their prime. This was recorded only months prior to the passing of Eric Dolphy.

Song List:

    1. So Long Eric
    2. Peggy's Blue Skylight
    3. Meditations on Integration


    1. So Long Eric
    2. Change Was The Color Of Her Dress, Then Blue Silk
    3. Parkerland
    4. Take the 'A' Train


  1. So Long Eric (rehearsal)
  2. So Long Eric
  3. Meditations on Integration (rehearsal)
  4. Meditations on Integration

Publisher's Note: A percentage of the sale of this DVD goes to support jazz education through the IAJE's Campaign for Jazz.

View AllClose