Bass Standards - Note-for-Note Transcriptions of Classic Jazz Performances (Book)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
To all 50 US States
Our Low Price: $14.95
Found a lower price?

Frequently bought together:


Bass Standards
Note-for-Note Transcriptions of Jazz Bass Classic Performances

What more can you say? Accurate, note-for-note transcriptions of 17 of the finest improvised jazz bass performances ever recorded - from a veritable "who's who" of jazz upright bassists. One of your favorite players is bound to be in this collection; everyone from Ray Brown to Reggie Workman -- and most every prolific bassist in between -- has a cut in this cleanly notated book.

Includes a foreward by the editors, as well as a discography detailing the specific sources of the transcriptions so that you can pursue further study with the source material.

112 pages.

Song List:

  • Blues Minor - Reggie Workman
  • Body And Soul - Jimmy Blanton
  • But Beautiful - Eddie Gomez
  • Falling In Love With Love - Gary Peacock
  • Footprints - Richard Davis
  • Have You Met Miss Jones? - Niels-Henning Orsted Pederson
  • How Deep Is The Ocean (How High Is The Sky) - Oscar Pettiford
  • I'll Remember April - Red Mitchell
  • Moose The Mooche - Charlie Haden
  • My Romance - Scott LaFaro
  • Night Train - Ray Brown
  • Old Devil Moon - Charles Mingus
  • Ring Dem Bells - Milt Hinton
  • So What - Paul Chambers
  • Take The 'A' Train - Rufus Reid
  • Well You Needn't (It's Over Now) - Ron Carter
  • Without A Song - Bob Cranshaw


Christopher's Take:
When this book came in, all I could say was: "cool." Note-for-note transcriptions of some of the most notable bassists around. Ever want to see exactly what Paul Chambers played each chorus on "So What?" It's in there. NHOP on "Have You Met Miss Jones?" Got it! (Not that I'm touching that one with a ten foot pole.)

This book even includes chord changes, so you can analyze each and every note your favorite player plucked. Milt Hinton, Gary Peacock, Jimmy Blanton... the list goes on. In one word, this book is just plain... "cool."

View AllClose